My Big Fat Greek Burgers


Spinach and feta burger

Greek and Spinach and Feta Burger | Photo by HealthyandLazy

This recipe comes to me from Better Homes and Gardens, via my mom.  It’s a lot like my black bean burgers in preparation, but totally different in flavor.  There’s not a whole lot to say about it – put all the goods in a bowl and mix it up, squish them into pattie shape, toss ’em into a pan.  Easy peasy lemon squeezy.

The only difficulty I had was that the burgers tended to crumble a bit when I flipped them.  The spinach/stuffing/feta mixture didn’t hold together as well as black bean burgers – there’s just no mushy ingredient to hold it all together.  I toyed with the original recipe a little bit.  Adding a little more olive oil and stuffing mix seemed to improve the consistency and made it a little easier to work with (those changes are reflected in the recipe below).

And thanks to all you who have Stumble(d)Upon me in the last few hours.  To be honest, I’m not completely sure how that all works, but I’ve gotten roughly 2,000 hits in the last 24 hours and that’s slightly more than my usual average.

Here’s what you need:

  • 10 oz package of frozen spinach, thawed and drained and drained again
  • 1/2 cup vegetarian stuffing mix
  • 1/2 cup crumbled feta cheese
  • 2 eggs
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/3 cup olive oil
  • 1 tsp oregano
  • 1 tsp dillweed (optional)
  • 4 hamburger buns
  • tomato for topping (optional)
  • plain Greek for topping
  • 1 large mixing bowl
  • 1 large pan

Here’s what to do:

Step 1) Combine the olive oil, garlic, oregano and dillweed in a large mixing bowl.

Mixing the goods

Mix it up good | Photo by HealthyandLazy

Step 2) Add in the stuffing mix and stir, letting it soak up the olive oil and spices.

Step 3) Add in well-drained spinach, eggs and feta and mix until the mixture seems evenly mixed.

Step 4) Form mixture into patties roughly 1/3 inch thick, and cook about 4 minutes on each side in a large (preferably non-stick) pan over medium heat.

Step 5) When they are browned on both sides, remove from pan, place on bun and top with whatever you’d like (I prefer tomatoes and a heaping scoop of plain Greek yogurt.

Needs toppings

Waiting for toppings | Photo by HealthyandLazy

This is a great meal, but it’s one that needs a side dish.  We My wife cut up some potatoes, coated them in EVOO, tossed them with half the seasonings in the cabinet and sauteed them until they had crispy outsides and tender insides.  So good.  It’s like your old-fashioned burger and fries, except the burger was made of spinach and nothing was fried.

Grilled Potatoes

Pan grilled potatoes | Photo by HealthyandLazy

5 responses to “My Big Fat Greek Burgers

  • My Grandparent's Kitchen

    One of the very nicest things about life is the way we must regularly stop whatever it is we are doing and devote our attention to eating. ~Luciano Pavarotti

  • liz

    Oh my goodness. I have never thought about making a greek style burger like that. I made gyros the other dave (lamb for the hubs and lots of broccoli for me!) And now I am kinda in love with greek food…def going to have to try these sometime!

  • Nancy Creighton

    Whenever I see a veg*an recipe that says it’s crumbly, I now add a little bit of Xanthan Gum. Usually start with a teaspoon, and go up if necessary. It helps everything hold together more. I’ve read that some people don’t like the taste, but I’ve never tasted it in anything I’ve used it in. Perhaps if you use too much, there’s a bad taste — just a warning there.

  • Vegetarian Gyros « healthy food | lazy people

    […] If you’ve got leftover tzatziki sauce, which you will unless you are a tzatziki glutton, try them out as a topping on these Greek-inspired homemade spinach veggie burgers. […]

Leave a Reply

