Pressed Plantain Sandwich


Plantain Sandwich

Plantain and pickle sandwich | Photo by HealthyandLazy

The semester is over!  Root beer floats for everyone!

The last week has been a rather dull one, food-wise.  Clawing my way through the last week of my first year of grad school, my quest to cook new foods was pushed to the back burner.  But I’m back, whew.

Anyways, a few weeks ago, a friend recommended a little hole-in-the-wall restaurant in Gainesville, called Flaco’s.  I know they are regionally-famous for their Cubans (sandwiches), but as usual, I got the veggie option.  Luckily, they make a mean veggie sandwich – I got one stuffed with plantains, pickles and cream cheese.

It’s a weird combo, I know, but it works.  If you love sweet plantains (and who doesn’t?), it’s a great weekend lunch and easy to make at home.

I’ll admit, I cheated a little – I used frozen sweet plantains from Publix, but if you want to make them from scratch, check out this recipe.  Making sweet plantains is easy, but you have to let the plantains turn black before starting and that poses two problems for me: I’d have to wait several days to eat this, and black vegetables make me cringe.

Go for it.

Here’s what you need:

  • Cuban bread (it’s your call on the amount.  I used about a half of a long loaf, because it needed to be used up, and then I ate so much I was full for a day and a half)
  • Frozen sweet plantains (about a cup’s worth)
  • Pickles
  • Cream cheese

    Stacking the sandwich

    Load it up! | Photo by Healthyandlazy

  • A little bit of butter for your pan

Here’s what to do:

Step 1) Slice your bread in half, and generously top with cream cheese, pickles and cooked, sweet plantains (they should already be hot)

Step 2) Drop a blob of butter in your pan and swirl it around.  Place the sandwich in the pan and press with hands/spatula/brick covered in foil until it begins to flatten out.  When it starts getting a little brown on the bottom, flip and repeat.  Don’t burn yourself.

Plantain and cream cheese

Thanks Flaco's, good idea. | Photo by Healthyandlazy

Of course, if you happen to have some sort of panini press or George Foreman grill, that would do the trick.  My tiny kitchen only has room for me and one pan, though.

5 responses to “Pressed Plantain Sandwich

Leave a Reply

