Film of the Week – Forks Over Knives


Forks Over Knives Poster

Forks Over Knives Poster | Photo from Fandango.com

Two days until the release of Forks Over Knives, the latest documentary touting the benefits of a plant-based diet.  And this one gets a wide theatrical release, so get ready for the debate over it’s merits – I’m sure it will have the low-carb-ers and paleo-dieters in a tizzy.

I haven’t seen the film yet, so I don’t want to go into great detail about what I think it contains.  The gist, though, is this: the diseases of affluence (obesity, heart disease, diabetes, etc) that are plaguing our country are a result of an over-abundance of animal proteins in our diet.  The so-called “American Diet,” which is high in everything except fruits and vegetables, is leading to a significant decline in the overall health of American adults and, sadly, children.

The two doctors profiled in Forks Over Knives (forks are used for vegetables, knives for meat/surgery, hence the title) have long supported a diet that is heavily, if not exclusively, plant-based – the complete inverse of the diet that the large majority of Americans now consume.

Dr. Colin Campbell, Cornell University

Dr. Colin Campbell, Cornell University | Photo from Forksoverknives.com

I think we probably all know where I stand.  A plant-based diet has been great for me.  I feel healthy and energetic, and I eat every meal with a clear conscience.

Regardless of whether you agree with this “diet” (and I don’t mean that in the fad-diet sense, but in the way-of-life-diet sense), I encourage you to see the film, do a little research, talk to your doctor and decide on the best diet for you.  “Vegetarian” isn’t a bad word and “vegan” food can be just as delicious and satisfying as a hamburger or steak.  Just watch the film with an open mind.

And I try not to be preachy on this blog.  Everyone is entitled to their own opinions and their own diet and frankly, I don’t feel that I am qualified to convert anyone to vegetarianism or veganism.  I’m not a doctor or a nutritionist.  All I can do is give my opinion and my experience, and let the experts do the talking.

And this documentary is the experts talking.

Check out the trailer:

I also want to point out that this film is produced by John Corry, my uncle’s brother.  And my cousin, Ian Corry, worked as a camera operator on the sequences featuring Joey Aucoin (the landscaping company owner with high cholesterol and diabetes).  Check out some of Ian’s other work here.

Dr. Oz, well-respected daytime doctor to the masses, recently spent a whole show praising and interviewing the creators of Forks Over Knives and the doctors who have spent their lives researching the benefits of a plant-based diet.  The first few minutes of the show are up on Youtube, but you’ll have to dig a little further to find the rest if you missed it on the telly.

Here’s part 1:

Forks Over Knives releases in New York and Los Angeles on May 6, and releases nationwide in the weeks that follow.  Click here for a list of opening dates by city.

3 responses to “Film of the Week – Forks Over Knives

Leave a Reply

